Sound Opinions

Sound Opinions

Take two nationally respected rock critics, the latest music news, personal commentary, and exclusive interviews and performances, add a huge pile of records old and new, and the result is Sound Opinions, where people who love music can come together.

  • 13 minutes 50 seconds
    Bob Newhart on Sound Opinions

    We're mourning the loss of Bob Newhart and in honor of his life, we've resurfaced his appearance on Sound Opinions from 2008 as a bonus podcast.


    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    22 July 2024, 6:42 pm
  • 50 minutes 54 seconds
    Angélica Garcia Interview, RIP James Chance & Françoise Hardy

    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with singer and songwriter Angélica Garcia, whose latest album "Gemelo" is sung almost entirely in Spanish. They also pay tribute to the late James Chance and Françoise Hardy.


    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

     

    Featured Songs:

    Angélica Garcia, "Color de Dolor," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    The Beatles, "With A Little Help From My Friends," Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club, Parlophone, 1967

    James Chance and the Contortions, "I Can't Stand Myself," No New York, Antilles, 1978

    James White and The Blacks, "Contort Yourself," Off White, ZE, 1979

    Françoise Hardy, "Comment Te Dire Adieu (It Hurts to Say Goodbye)," Comment Te Dire Adieu?, Vogue, 1968

    Françoise Hardy, "All Over the World," Françoise Hardy Sings in English, Vogue, 1966

    Angélica Garcia, "Reflexiones," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    Angélica Garcia, "Guadalupe," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    Angelica, "Angel Baby," Angel Baby, Ultra, 1991

    Angélica Garcia, "El Que," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    Angélica Garcia, "Mirame," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    Angélica Garcia, "Y Grito," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    Angélica Garcia, "Paloma," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    Hazel, "Smooth Sinner," Hazel EP, Self-Released, 2011

    Radiohead, "Kid A," Kid A, Capitol, 2000

    Angélica Garcia, "La Llorona," Cha Cha Palace, Spacebomb, 2020

    Death by Chocolate, "Land of Chocolate," Death by Chocolate, Jet Set, 2001

    Chelsea Wolfe, "Tunnel Lights," She Reaches Out to She Reaches Out to She, Loma Vista, 2024

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    19 July 2024, 5:00 am
  • 8 minutes 44 seconds
    A Timeless 70's Reggae Artist

    In this bonus episode, Greg adds a timeless reggae song to the desert island jukebox.

    --

    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    17 July 2024, 2:11 pm
  • 51 minutes 2 seconds
    Little Richard & Music as We Age

    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with director Lisa Cortés about her documentary, "Little Richard: I Am Everything." The film is full of electrifying live footage of the rock and roll architect throughout his career. They also talk with Professor Timothy McKenry about his research into why people listen to less new music as they age.

    --

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    --

    Featured Songs:

    Little Richard, "A Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On," Little Richard Is Back (And There's a Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On!), Vee-Jay, 1964

    The Beatles, "With A Little Help From My Friends," Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, Capitol, 1967

    Little Richard, "Tutti Frutti," Here's Little Richard, Specialty, 1957

    Little Richard, "Keep a Knockin'," Little Richard, Specialty, 1958

    Led Zeppelin, "Rock and Roll," Led Zeppelin IV, Atlantic, 1971

    Little Richard, "It's Real," The King of Gospel Singers, Mercury, 1961

    Little Richard, "Rip It Up," Here's Little Richard, Specialty, 1957

    Angélica Garcia, "Color De Dolor," Gemelo, Partisan, 2024

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    12 July 2024, 4:00 am
  • 7 minutes 35 seconds
    A Fake Band Jim Wishes Were Real

    In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox from a band that doesn't exist, but he wishes really did.


    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    10 July 2024, 10:00 am
  • 50 minutes 59 seconds
    SPRINTS, Goat Girl & Charli XCX Reviews

    Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with Karla and Jack of SPRINTS, the Irish post-punk band who recently released their debut album titled Letter to Self. The hosts also review new music from Charli XCX and Goat Girl, and Jim speaks with music critic Niko Stratis.

    --

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    --

    Featured Songs:

    Sprints, "Heavy," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    The Beatles, "With A Little Help From My Friends," Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club, Parlophone, 1967

    Charli XCX, "Von Dutch," Brat, Atlantic, 2024

    Charli XCX, "Sympathy Is A Knife," Brat, Atlantic, 2024

    Charli XCX, "Girl, So Confusing," Brat, Atlantic, 2024

    Charli XCX, "So I," Brat, Atlantic, 2024

    Goat Girl, "TCNC," Below The Waste, Rough Trade, 2024

    Goat Girl, "Tonight," Below The Waste, Rough Trade, 2024

    Goat Girl, "Motorway," Below The Waste, Rough Trade, 2024

    Sprints, "Cathedral," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    Sprints, "Kissing Practice," The Cheek (Single), Nice Swan, 2020

    Sprints, "Up And Comer," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    Sprints, "Ticking," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    Sprints, "Letter To Self," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    Sprints, "Literary Mind," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    Sprints, "Shaking Their Hands," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    Talking Heads, "This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)," Speaking in Tongues, Sire, 1983

    Ben E King, "Stand By Me," Don't Play That Song! , Atco, 1962

    The Kinks, "Lola," Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One, Pye, 1970

    Little Richard, "Tutti Frutti," Here's Little Richard, Specialty, 1957

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    5 July 2024, 5:00 am
  • 7 minutes 7 seconds
    A Ghanaian Synthesis of Rock from the 1970s

    In this classic bonus episode, Greg adds a track to the Desert Island Jukebox from the compilation Ghana Soundz: AfroBeat, Funk & Fusion in 70s Ghana.

    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    3 July 2024, 10:00 am
  • 43 minutes 52 seconds
    Prince's Purple Rain

    It’s been 40 years since Prince released his psychedelic pop masterpiece, Purple Rain. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit their classic album dissection of Purple Rain for its anniversary.

    --

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    --

    Featured Songs:

    Prince And The Revolution, "Purple Rain," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince And The Revolution, "Let's Go Crazy," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince And The Revolution, "Take Me With U," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince, "Head," Dirty Mind, Warner Bros, 1980

    Prince, "Controversy," Controversy, Warner Bros, 1981

    Prince, "Soft And Wet," For You, Warner Bros, 1978

    Prince And The Revolution, "The Beautiful Ones," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince And The Revolution, "I Would Die 4 U," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince And The Revolution, "Darling Nikki," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince And The Revolution, "Computer Blue," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince And The Revolution, "Baby I'm a Star," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince And The Revolution, "When Doves Cry," Purple Rain, Warner Bros, 1984

    Prince, "Can't Stop This Feeling," Graffiti Bridge, Warner Bros, 1990

    Prince, "You're My Love," Originals, Warner Bros, 2019

    Sprints, "Heavy," Letter To Self, City Slang, 2024

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    28 June 2024, 4:00 am
  • 38 minutes 48 seconds
    A Conversation About Trans Representation in the Rock Canon

    In this bonus podcast, Jim talks with critic Niko Stratis about an error in a recent bonus episode on the song "Lola." The conversation goes from there to consider the representation of transgender people over the years in the work of artists like Lou Reed and Against Me! among others.


    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    26 June 2024, 10:00 am
  • 44 minutes 56 seconds
    The Best Albums of 2024 So Far!

    The year 2024 is halfway over, and there has already been a plethora of exciting, inspired and relevant new releases. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share their favorite albums of 2024 so far.

    --

    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    --

    Featured Songs:

    The Messthetics and James Brandon Lewis, "Emergence," The Messthetics and James Brandon Lewis, Impulse,

    The Beatles, "With A Little Help (From My Friends)," Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, Parlophone,

    Heems and Lapgan, "Accent," Lafandar, Veena Sounds,

    The Anti-Queens, "Apocalypse She (feat. Brenna Red)," Disenchanted, Stomp,

    Waxahatchee, "Right Back to it (feat. MJ Lenderman)," Tigers Blood, Anti-,

    Pillow Queens, "Like A Lesson," Name Your Sorrow, Royal Mountain,

    Jlin, "Summon," Akoma, Planet Mu, 20241. J Robbins, "Not the End," Basilisk, Dischord,

    J Robbins, "Exquisite Corpse," Basilisk, Dischord,

    Middle Kids, "Bootleg Firecracker," Faith Crisis Pt. 1, Lucky Number,

    Middle Kids, "Bend," Faith Crisis Pt. 1, Lucky Number,

    The Lemon Twigs, "A Dream is All I Know," A Dream is All We Know, Captured Tracks,

    The Lemon Twigs, "If You and I Are Not Wise," A Dream is All We Know, Captured Tracks,

    Ibibio Sound Machine, "Fire," Pull The Rope, Merge,

    Hurray For The Riff Raff, "Buffalo," The Past Is Still Alive, Nonesuch,

    Shirlette Ammons, "Spectacles," Spectacles, Self-Released,

    Idles, "Roy," Tangk, Partisan,

    Sprints, "Cathedral," Letter To Self, City Slang,

    Mary Timony, "No Thirds," Untame The Tiger, Merge,

    Prince And The Revolution, "Purple Rain," Purple Rain, Warner Bros,


    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    21 June 2024, 4:00 am
  • 5 minutes 51 seconds
    An Unsung Hero for Pride Month

    In this bonus episode Greg adds a track to the Desert Island Jukebox from a groundbreaking queer artist who had a huge influence on the development of rock n roll.


    Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

    Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

    Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

    Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

    Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

    See Privacy Policy at https://art19.com/privacy and California Privacy Notice at https://art19.com/privacy#do-not-sell-my-info.

    19 June 2024, 10:00 am
  • More Episodes? Get the App
© MoonFM 2024. All rights reserved.